Rufous Whistler

The fairy wrens were there today, but not very cooperative. The egrets where hiding in full view way up on the top of the gums.

IMG_7274

The thing that I was looking for, however, was the ‘syrup’ bird. It made what sounded to me to be a ‘syyy-rup’ call. I could hear it, but could not get a clear view of it until I had given up. It was still in the shadows, but in full view.

I think it is a Golden Whistler. No, it is a male Rufous Whistler. Identification by a helpful soul in the Birds in the backyard forum.

On the way home, I came across two rainbow lorikeets and some more swallows.

Leave a Reply

