After the dawn service

I was up early to go to the dawn ANZAC service, which was extremely well attended. After that, I went out in search of birds.

There were no wrens today. Well, they not where they were so numerous the other day, so I walked to the bridge. No kites, so back again to the roadside. I caught a flicker on the other side of the road — fairy wrens.

IMG_7143

Then I saw what I thought were brown honey-eaters, but they were not alone.

A bright mistletoe bird (it would have been the shot of the day) sat on an open branch in full morning sun. It took one look at me and flew. I got a less that perfect shot of it later.

IMG_7140

Then, by way of compensation, a pair of pale-headed rosellas actually sat on branches for me. This was unexpected.

Finally, a couple of striated pardalotes also posed for me. It was a good morning all round .

Leave a Reply

