Blue Tiger Butterfly

Tirumala limniace (or tirumala hamata)

Before I googled this beasty, I opined to my wife that the only thing more elusive and difficult to photograph than this butterfly is a Sumatran tiger. I’d been tracking it (or a butterfly very like it) for days. Little did I know that the name of this butterfly would plausibly bear me out.

blue butterfly too

Happily, there are few Sumatran tigers on the loose around here (at least, I haven’t seen one).

blue butterfly

blue butterfly also

Leave a Reply

